Thursday, February 4, 2010

Omar Faruk Tekbilek - Tree Of Patience (2006)

World, Meditation, Middle-Eastern | LOSSLESS (Seperate FLAC+LOG) | 377 MB | + Scans | Running Time : 54:14 | RS
Release Date: October 10, 2006 | Label: White Swan | Catalog#: 0071
On Tree of Patience, acclaimed Turkish virtuoso Omar Faruk Tekbilek expands his “Mediterranean sound” beyond political, religious and geographic boundaries. Joined by an all-star cast of music luminaries including Enrique Morente, Arto Tuncboyaciyan, David Darling, Steve Roach and long-time collaboraor Brian Keane, Omar Faruk applies his unity-in-diversity approach to a collection of songs colored with traditional Sufi melodies, Middle Eastern flavors and distinct traces of folk and flamenco. The result: a contemporary world music sound that is uplifting and exuberant, intuitive and spiritual.

Honored as a peacemaker and virtuoso, Omar Faruk Tekbilek is one of the most sought-after Middle Eastern musicians living in the United States. Relentless worldwide touring and a welcoming openness to music from all cultures position him as the rare artist who transcends political obstacles while maintaining traditional sensibilities. Tree of Patience is his personal acknowledgment of all the remarkable people he has encountered and who contributed to his development as an artist and a human being.

Omar Faruk is the recipient of the 2003 Turkish Music Award for “Best Artist” from the Turkish Writers Association. He was a nominee for the 2003 BBC World Music Award in the Middle East category. He was also the recipient of the people’s-choice US Golden Belly Musician-Of-The-Year-Award in 1998 and 1999.

Omar Faruk Tekbilek
(vocals, baglama, kaval, ney, zurna, tambourine, sound effects, background vocals)
Enrique Morente, Pinar Tekbilek, Deniz Tekbilek
Brian Keane
(acoustic guitar, slide guitar, flamenco guitar, organ, synthesizer, electric bass, wind chime)
Eric Weissberg
(banjo, mandolin)
Hasan Isakkut
(kanun, violin)
Ara Dinkjian
(oud, electric piano)
Kurt Coble, Roxanne Bergman, Bob Zubrycki, Marshall P. Coid
Jill Jaffe
David Darling
(cello, electric cello)
Dan Barrett Quintet
Ertan Tekin
Steve Roach
Leo Huppert
(acoustic bass, double bass)
Arto Tuncboyaciyan
(drums, bendir, cowbells, cymbals, davul, shaker, triangle, hand claps, percussion, bells, sound effects, background vocals)
Keith Chirgwin
(sound effects)

1 Common Spirit 4:40
2 Elation 4:32
3 Ghizemli 8:07
4 Ole Aman 6:32
5 Why 5:29
6 Toros 5:30
7 Adanam 4:57
8 Karam 4:50
9 Tree Of Patience 9:53



LOSSLESS (Seperate FLAC+LOG) +Scans
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4